The Cabinet is the executive body of the Grinnell College Student Government Association (SGA). The Cabinet is responsible for chairing the various SGA Committees, passing budgets and setting goals for the SGA.

SGA Cabinet 2018-2019


President Myles Becker

Myles Becker is the Student Government Association’s President. He is fourth year Computer Science major from Chicago, Illinois. Myles is passionate about the implications of emerging technologies within modern society. He also serves as an administrator within the Technology Consultant Corps, as well as the founder of Grinnell College Virtual Reality.  In his free time, Myles likes to hang out with friends, listen to music and sleep.
Pronouns: he/him/his


Vice President of Academic Riley Murphey

Riley Murphy (he/him/his) is a fourth-year Classics major from Encinitas, California. He serves as the SGA Vice President of Academic Affairs, the liaison for students with administration and faculty on all matters related to academics. Previously Riley has been the SGA Presiding Officer, Business Manager for the Scarlet & Black, and co-chair of the Classics SEPC. As VPAA, Riley is the chair of the Student Curriculum Committee, works closely with the Dean of the College, and represents students on various college committees. Please feel free to reach out with any questions about academics, advising, or the construction projects on campus!


Vice President of Student Affairs Kadiata Toumbou


Administrative Coordinator Dylan Welch

Dylan Welch (he/him/his) is SGA’s Administrative Coordinator. He’s a fourth year Political Science major with a Policy Studies concentration. Dylan was an All-Campus Events Co-Chair with Selah last year, and he has been involved with Liberal Arts in Prison, Young Democratic Socialists of Grinnell, and student activism on campus. Dylan hopes to work to make Student Senate (formerly Campus Council) welcoming and accessible to all students this year. Get in touch with him at [sga1] if you have a discussion topic or resolution for Student Senate, want to be a delegate to Campus Council, or have any questions about SGA in general!

Treasurer Quinn Ercolani

Quinn Ercolani ’20 (he/him/his) is a third-year student from Clinton Township, Michigan. He is a Political Science and Philosophy double major with an American Studies concentration. Outside of SGA, you can find him on stage and behind the scenes of some of the theater productions, or doing research on labor law. Feel free to reach out to him with any and all questions, suggestions, concerns, jokes, or omens foretelling the completion of the HSSC during his office hours or at [sgamoney].

Assistant Treasurer Amanda Weber


Amanda Weber is the SGA Assistant Treasurer. She is a second-year English and Russian double major from the great American suburb of Woodbury, Minnesota. At Grinnell, she has also served as the Web Manager of The S&B and as a senator. She is excited to help students engage with and improve the Grinnell experience and to get them the funding they need to do so. Please feel free to reach out to her with any and all questions, concerns, feedback, or book recommendations.

Pronouns: she/her/hers


All-Campus Events Co-Chair Selah Mystic

Selah Mystic is the ACE Chair. Selah is a third year Posse scholar majoring in History and is interested in teaching after Grinnell. She is also one of the co-leaders of CBS, was a Class Ambassador, and has been involved with the Track and Field team, Ed Pros, and PCPOP. Selah hopes to diversify the types of All-Campus Events hosted and make the process of hosting events more accessible to the campus. If you have questions or concerns, please feel free to contact her.

Pronouns: she/her/hers


Services Coordinator Joshua Tibatemwa




Diversity & Outreach Coordinator Regina Logan

Regina Logan (she/her/hers) is a third-year economics major from Portland, OR. She’s passionate about relationship-based models of outreach, building partnerships between SGA and student groups, and strengthening the feedback loop between students, student government, and decision-makers at the school. Outside of SGA, you can find her watching reality TV, reading mystery novels, an attempting to start a campus policy journal (ask me about it!).

Concerts Chair Cassidy Christiansen


Senators are elected each semester to represent their designated constituencies at Campus Council. Constituencies are divided into six dorm clusters and an off-campus college-owned and non-college owned housing cluster – Canada, Clangrala, Smounker, Loosehead, Jamaland, East Campus, and Off-Campus. Senators are students’ direct means of representation to Campus Council. Senators report Campus Council activities to their constituency and solicit constituents’ opinions in turn representing those opinions at Campus Council. Senators are also responsible for writing, debating, and enacting SGA legislation, approving budgets and sitting on two committees. Students interested in running for senator need to turn in a brief statement of intent to Election Board in order to be on the ballot for the elections. Students not on the ballot can still run as write-in candidates. In order to run for Senator, a student must meet the following criteria: be enrolled in Grinnell for at least one semester, be in good academic standing, and not be a member of student staff.

Fall 2019 Senators

Full bios and office hours on the Senators can be seen over at our Senators page.

Canada: Steven McDowell ‘21

Clangrala: Elizabeth Collinger ‘21, Allie Pearce ‘20

Smounker: Puravi Nath ‘21, Ishaan Tibrewal ‘21

LaKerRoJe: Amelia Zoernig ‘21, Rande Nieto ‘21, Ryuta Kure ‘21

Loosehead: Syamala Gumidyala ‘21, Declan Jones ‘21, Phinn Lloyd ‘21

Jamaland: Anna Moen ’20, Arish Vale ’21

OCCO/OCNCO: June Christian ‘19, Carrie Stallings ‘19

Class Ambassadors

The Class Ambassador Program was developed to foster a sense of affinity among their class year and towards Grinnell College.Two individuals from each class year are selected to serve as the class ambassadors for their respective year. Class ambassadors are selected through an open application process facilitated by the three key drivers of the program (Student Government Association, Student Alumni Council, and the Office of Development and Alumni Relations). Individuals serve a one-year term and may reapply for additional terms if they so choose. First Year Class Ambassadors are chosen second semester through an application process.

2018-2019 Class Ambassadors!

Please welcome your class ambassadors!

Class of 2019: Bryce Lew & Kiara Borosky [seniorca]

Class of 2020: Mahira Faran, Yoli Martin & Carson Peters [thirdyearca]

Class of 2021:  Rachel Hinkley & Hallela Hinton-Williams [secondyearca]

Class of 2022: TBD [firstyearca]

We also have the full descriptions of the Class Ambassadors.

Presiding Officer Lana Katai






Technical Advisor Addi Gould